• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Steve

SkiMangoJazz
Pass Pulled
I've been doing Rodney Yee's Standing Poses routine for a few years. One of the instructions he gives is to spread your toes, spread the soles of your feet - on standing poses. I've been intrigued by the extra balance and stability that it brings and have been using it in hiking on rough trails. What it seems to do is to activate the calfs. Similar to the adage of activating your core. It feels very stable and controlled.

I've never heard this mentioned in skiing, only to wiggle your toes - to alleviate arch cramping. There is a bit of a connection between those two movements.

I'm very interested in trying this in ski boots. It also widens the foot and keeps it from tensing up.

Thoughts?

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
I just don't have that type room in my shell...but I like the idea.

TS
Steve

Steve

SkiMangoJazz
Pass Pulled
I hadn't thought of that, have to put my boots on soon. Even so the "functional tension" might still be effective.

luliski

Making fresh tracks
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
I've also wondered about this. I have custom footbeds in my boots and supposedly they allow the forefoot to spread out, while causing the heel to be locked in. But I don't think I actually have enough room in the toe box for my toes to spread. I'm even more curious now that I've had foot surgery, I'm going to need new boots (and probably new foot beds). I'm hoping to get a little more toe space to make my bad foot as functional as possible.

Skisailor

Laziest Skier on the Mountain
Skier
I like it Steve, but more as a part of just relaxing and standing on your feet. Certain kinds of muscular input in the feet and toes that are often advocated just seem like too much work to do on a consistent basis in ski turns, IMHO.

As a recovery movement - yes.