• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

AZSkiBum

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
Hey Guys/Gals,

I'm new to the self tuning / waxing but after reading a ton in this forum and watching a lot of youtube videos, I gave it a go at my first tuning session over the weekend. My question is that I bought a cheap Wintersteiger iron and it seems to take forever to melt wax on the ski. I can easily drip wax on just like videos show and I don't over apply but when it comes time to smooth the wax, it feels like I have to move at a snails pace to get a nice layer that's still liquid a few inches behind the iron. I'm using Purl - purple wax and my skis were in the garage so probably 60 degrees when I started so nothing crazy as far as my setup. I should have used my IR temp gun to see where it was set at but turning it up a little bit more resulted in smoke when dripping wax on. Once I get to a third pass, there's enough heat in the ski to keep the wax molten but I'm still moving at half speed of what I see in videos. Did I get a bad iron or is this normal? Should I send the iron back?

Thanks!

Primoz

Skiing the powder
Skier
It depends on what temperature iron is set. Regardless to what some will tell, for normal waxes, iron should be set somewhere between 110 and 140c. Exact temperature depends on wax, snow conditions, snow/air temperature for what you wax etc, and can actually go up to 180c for overlays, which I'm sure you won't be using anytime soon. If you have your iron set really low (like 60 or 70c like some will suggest in minute.. .no offence guys ;) ), you can actually drink bottle of beer before you will finish single pass, and wax still won't penetrate ptex properly. ;)

Daves not here

Getting off the lift
Skier