• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Insulated ski jacket, or shell?

Shell or insulated jacket?

• Shell

Votes: 53 67.1%
  • Insulated jacket

Votes: 26 32.9%

• Total voters

oboe

Booting up
Skier
I’m doing an informal survey: Do you ski in an insulated ski jacket, or do you ski in an uninsulated shell and supply your own layers of insulation? What’s your usual practice?

As a ski instructor, I'm always in a shell, because the uniforms are shells. When I free ski, I remove the uniform and put on my own shell. I supply whatever insulating layer or layers are needed for the conditions prevailing at the time. However, it is somewhat of a bother when free skiing to come into the lodge and start removing layers. I'm thinking that an insulated jacket may be just the ticket for skiing on days off or on vacation - then I can be warm enough in colder weather and have only the insulated jacket to remove when going into the lodge for lunch, rest, whatever.

What's your practice? Why? What thoughts can you share on this subject?

Ken_R

Living the Dream
Skier
I’m doing an informal survey: Do you ski in an insulated ski jacket, or do you ski in an uninsulated shell and supply your own layers of insulation? What’s your usual practice?

As a ski instructor, I'm always in a shell, because the uniforms are shells. When I free ski, I remove the uniform and put on my own shell. I supply whatever insulating layer or layers are needed for the conditions prevailing at the time. However, it is somewhat of a bother when free skiing to come into the lodge and start removing layers. I'm thinking that an insulated jacket may be just the ticket for skiing on days off or on vacation - then I can be warm enough in colder weather and have only the insulated jacket to remove when going into the lodge for lunch, rest, whatever.