• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

vindibona1

Getting on the lift
Instructor
With new boots purchased, it's probably time to start thinking about replacing my 7 year old Nordica FireArrow skis (172mm-132/80/116 R14.5). I had Head skis before (that I got around 2005) and really liked them (until I noodled them over time). I want to explore the Head brand again but won't have an opportunity to demo and might have to buy blind based on recommendation. I'm looking to get some clarity on which models would best be suited for me for the coming few years.

I'm a Level III Certified Instructor, currently 68 years old (if that makes a difference?). I've had a knee replacement. I ski primarily in the midwest, so lots of man-made, hard snow, shorter runs, making every inch of real estate count. When I get to "real" mountains (maybe one week/year), I can let them loose (probably skiing faster than I should at my age) and don't shy away from any terrain. As they say; any turn, any condition, any terrain. Groomed, powder, crud- whatever's in my path (but at home almost 100% groomed hardpack/ice). So while on occasion I have to teach or ski bumps, it's a given that the titanium knee doesn't like a lot of abuse. I do bumps when necessary, or sometimes just to show that I can still do them (yet not as aggressively as once-upon-a-time). When I have the opportunity I ski moderately fast. I can still keep up with the teenagers, but prefer to stay on the ground. You get the picture.

So, I'm thinking one of the Head models, something around 13.5-14m radius. I'm sitting here with pages of next year's Head catalog. Like most gear catalogs, they are designed to be as ambiguous as possible. and are offering me no real-world help.