• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Wax and scraping questions

nyskiguy

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
Hi all, just joined ski talk today. I'm just learning to tune and wax my skis. I started by working on edges of my 21 yo K2 axis xp's. I still use them for skiing on ice/groomed east coast slopes. When I get the hang of it, I'll go for it on my 2022 Armadas. A couple waxing questions:

-When I do the crayon wax technique, by heating the wax, then rubbing, I find that the iron in the middle didn't get melted by my iron. Is this because the ski has become concave over time? It didn't look that way with a tru bar, but maybe I'm not good at spotting that yet.

-Same problem when I scraped- the wax towards the middle didn't get melted when I used the wide side of the scraper, which goes across the width of the ski. I had to use the short edge. Do I risk damaging the base if this way, since the corner might did into the base?

-I found it hard to cover the ski with melted wax unless I moved the iron back and forth, up and down. Is this ok, or does the iron have to go only tip to tail? I also had to run the short edge of the iron across the length of the ski, since doing it the wide way, the wax didn't melt.

Thanks for your help, excited and scared to get into this and other tuning rabbit holes!

raytseng

Making fresh tracks
Skier
When I do the crayon wax technique, by heating the wax, then rubbing, I find that the iron in the middle didn't get melted by my iron. Is this because the ski has become concave over time? It didn't look that way with a tru bar, but maybe I'm not good at spotting that yet.
Yes, your ski has likely gone a little concave/edge high. You don't necessarily need a truebar, if you just stick a ruler or your clean (new) scraper on it, you probably can see it. The iron and scraper are also telling you it's concave.