• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Not New, but certainly felt that way yesterday at Park City

BillyGoat

Booting up
Skier
I didn't start skiing until I was 48-49. I'm 6' about 200lbs, and reasonably active... spent an early season on the bench from an ACL (playing hoops) but I was hooked. I was getting as many ski days as possible in around 15-20 all on East Coast mountains. So, At this point I consider myself an Advanced Intermediate in the morning, and drop down to intermediate in the afternoon once my knee and quads start whimpering.

I went to Park City for 3 days .... had a great time on mostly groomers. I've never learned how to navigate moguls or tracked up snow with a lot of uneveness. Last day, PC got 7-8 inches and I felt like a total beginner. I usually take a lesson every trip I take, but I always have ended up on groomers more being taught how to be a better carver. I got to the point where I was wanting my ice runs since I know how to deal with that.

How do I learn how to deal with mounds of snow and powder without taking out another ACL?? I was constantly either in the backseat, or when I tried to take a more active carve-like stance I'd end up too far over my skis. I'm now 58, and feel like I can't progress any further without spending gobs of $$'s on lessons. Very unsure it's worth a week at a place like PC, that's for sure.

thanks for your thoughts.

Last edited:

Seldomski

All words are made up
Skier
What skis and boots are you using? If you cannot comfortably stay forward, it could be that your boots or skis are too soft. And/or your boots are too upright.

If you want to progress your skills, you will need to take more lessons. Ideally multiple days of lessons in a row. There are some places that are good for skiing and others that are good for lessons. Look for multi day "ski camps" or clinics and plan a trip around that.