• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Brock Tice

Out on the slopes
Skier
I have issues sometimes skiing with other people. I train hard all summer and beyond on bikes and with weights as well so that I can ski the most and the best possible in my limited time each season. I enjoy pushing myself and generally can just rest on the lift on all but the most intense days.

There are times, however, when I want or need to ski with other people that can't maintain the pace or ski the terrain that I want to.

Ultimately I need to be more patient if I want this to ever work. I try to hide my impatience but I'm not good at it. I recognize this as a character flaw and I make no excuse for it, other than that I'm trying to improve, though not doing well at it.

Have you dealt with this problem? Is there a mental approach or some sort of compromise or tactic that helps? In the past sometimes just splitting up and then meeting a bit later has worked but that defeats "skiing together". It's particularly bad when conditions are great, but then I guess I'm not alone or the saying, "no friends on powder days" wouldn't exist.

Is there any hope for me to become a better person in this regard?

Josh Matta

Skiing the powder
Pass Pulled
puts Brock on list of people not to ski with ;)

In all honestly with limited time I dont know what to tell you besides finding someone who shares you goals and fitness/charginess level.

I have tons of time especially this year, and ski 80 percent of my free time with my much slower wife. I guess I am really not in a hurry at all.

scott43

So much better than a pro
Skier
I can empathize..sometimes people drag me out mountain biking and they...just...suck... And I have a very hard time hanging around. I dunno..I'm riding with purpose..it's not leisure time..to me anyway. I don't even know if I could instruct...just can't imagine..patience I suppose.

TS
Brock Tice

Brock Tice

Out on the slopes
Skier