• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

asolo

Booting up
Skier
I am an intermediate advancing skier (5'9", 150). I am looking at Tecnica Mach1 MV 120 boots. I have skied a few days in these boots. The fit and stiffness seem more or less okay. I have tried removing one stiffness control bolt and did not like it. I think if anything, I want stiffer.

One problem I have is too much "vertical" space in the toe area. I can crank up the forward most buckle to the max, but then the arch starts to suffer. I feel like too much space in front affects my ability to precisely drive the ski tips in powder and on ice when I want to keep the tips connected to surface at all times. Here's a question: what's the recommendation with respect to having too much "vertical" space in toe box?

I can still return these boots and try something entirely different. I suspect, I have weird feet: as a kid I was a pro figure skater, extensively training feet for jumping (on the upside, I can take a lot of boot pain and cold). My mondo is 27.5, the instep is about 30, the width is at least 105, perhaps more. I would love any boot brand recommendations. I am near Boulder, CO and would also appreciate any bootfitter recommendations.

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
IMHO, the too much toe volume is a symptom of another problem. I am not sure of any fitters to recommend in the Boulder are, or on the front range but Racers Edge in Breck and SBF in Vail/Beaver Creek are top choices.

S.H.

USSA Coach
Skier

WildBillD

Booting up
Skier
I would try the technica mach 1 in an lv. From what I am told from boot fitting friends this model is a boot fitters dream as it has small dimples at strategic points for Expansion. If your problem is with toebox, the lv might be better, the last and ankle area can be easily blown out near the dimpe areas. From your skaters experience, it seems that are comfortable in a tight fitting boot.