• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Tempest Optics new heat-assisted anti-fog goggle (was ABOM)

pchewn

Skiing the powder
Skier
I've been a consultant and product tester for ABOM goggles for the past several years. That company no longer exists. See here for discussion of the ABOM goggles:

https://www.skitalk.com/threads/best-goggles-ever-full-stop-nuff-said.8030/

Rising from the ashes of the old ABOM company is a new company: Tempest Optics https://tempestoptics.com/ (See for products, prices, features, etc).

Here is Vince O'Malley of Tempest in an introductory Podcast describing the product:

At the end of last season, I was testing and consulting on the design of Tempest Optic's new goggles. Until now, I was very limited in what I could reveal about them. Well, I'm happy to report that the goggles are being manufactured, the marketing has started, and the goggles will be available for online orders in November.

The advantages over the ABOM Heet goggles are:
  • Lower cost
  • Much faster charge time
  • Much longer battery life
  • Easier swap of lenses, lower cost lenses (you can now justify a whole quiver of lenses)
  • Easier to use (charge them, use them) No buttons, no lights, no modes, no hassle
I am not paid by Tempest, I am not an employee, I am not a spokesperson, I do receive free goggles to test. I am a friend of the chief engineer.

This thread is for discussion/questions/comments about the Tempest Optics heat-assisted no-fog goggles.

TS
pchewn

pchewn

Skiing the powder
Skier
Here I am in May of last season on Mt Hood with Tempest goggles:

Me-and-my-Tempest.jpg

Sibhusky

Whitefish, MT
Skier
It would be nice if they had the VLT Info on the various lenses.

I'll be interested in hearing real life reviews. I have three pairs of the aBoms so not in a huge rush to spend more money yet.

In a fall, will we need to have streamers attached when the lens goes flying into the trees?

TS
pchewn