• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Stein Eriksen comparison.

Mattyboy

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
I have been skiing for 50+ years.
I think I am very good, and have been told that I ski like
Stein Eriksen. I have always taken that as a compliment.

That is, until the other day, when a relative told me that I need
to go back to ski school, because I am “too old school”.
This person is a ski instructor/ski patroller and said that
he would fail me on my form… ”not in control” as evidenced
by my boots very close.

This got some heated conversation.. but I yielded the point, that
i may be sub-optimizing my parabolic ski edge, but I wouldn’t
call myself out of control….

i would be interested in getting peoples feedback.

Does this 60 year old need to go back to ski school?
I want to join the ski patrol, and help out in my retirement
years.

bothered & having second thoughts.

Scruffy

Making fresh tracks
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter

by my boots very close.

years.

Need? No. If you want to join the 21st century of skiing you might want to see what all this modern day stuff is about. If you're happy were you are, enjoy.

As far a patroller goes, they don't test your on skiing ability. Ski instructors do.

Last edited:

KingGrump

Most Interesting Man In The World
Team Gathermeister
SkiTalk Supporter
Can't tell without a video of you skiing.

hrstrat57

Skis guitars Mustangs
Skier
Funny just this morning I was thinking about those old PSIA demo vids of Level 5 (stem Christie) skiing that Stein did. That was truly beautiful skiing. I realized I hadn’t seen anyone deliberately ski like that in probably 25 years. I recall working hard to perfect my own Level 4 and 5 demos. Haven’t tried those moves in years at least since I was on skis between lengths of 200-208 cm.

I wonder how that stem Christie would work on my 165 Volkl FIS Racetigers? I’ll have to try it.

Interesting topic…

Bad Bob