• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Sharp Enough?

GB_Ski

Out on the slopes
Skier
I started tuning my side edges this season. I have the racewax bevel guides and moonflex 200. It seems pretty straight forward, but I do have a question. How do I know if the edges are sharp enough? Is it the "no more scratchy" sounds when the stone go over the edges? Or is it "shave off finger nails sharp?

Oh, a random question, can I use regular rubbing alcohol with water as lubricant?

offtraildog

Booting up
Skier
I am not an expert tuner. I use the moonflex 200/400/600 files and this stuff
Every week, I touch up with 400/600. I only use 200 if I have some edge damage to clean up.
When i use the 200, I use a sharpie on the edges. hold it perpendicular and draw it along the top of the metal edge. After the link is gone, I make passes with the 400 & 600 . I do 4 tip-tail each with the 400/600.
I used to use alcohol and water but prefer the lapping fluid.
I gauge sharpness based upon how they feel when I ski :) and my approach to edge maintenance works for me.

Last edited:

Sibhusky

Whitefish, MT
Skier
I look for "shave off fingernails sharp", but SMOOTH. Lightly running your fingers themselves down the edges should not result in cuts. That means there's a burr. So I run through a series of stones that end with a fine Ceramic stone, roughly 1800 grit. Then run a hard blue gummi lightly down the edge.

KingGrump

Most Interesting Man In The World
Team Gathermeister
SkiTalk Supporter
Is it the "no more scratchy" sounds when the stone go over the edges? Or is it "shave off finger nails sharp?

Definitely "cut off your finger sharp."
If you are using a 200 moonflex, you are not really "sharpening." The process is more deburring and/or polishing. Unless your skis aren't really "dull."