• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Problems with ice - technique or gear?

J2R

Booting up
Skier
I've just got back from a week's skiing in Austria where the snow base was great but there hadn't been any new snow for a while and many of the slopes were very hard, scraped and icy. I have to say that the boiler-plate stuff really caused me problems at times, as my downhill ski would frequently lose grip while cutting across the slope and slip down the hill a bit, particularly on the steeper stuff. Once you lose confidence that your edge is going to hold, of course, your skiing gets more defensive and problems are exacerbated. I'm wondering what part my technique plays in my problem and how much, if any, it's down to the skis.

I'm a self-taught skier having learned mainly via the PMTS method, and while I'm certainly no expert, I usually cope OK with everything the mountain has to throw at me, on and off-piste. I have just the one pair of skis, Scott Crusades, an all-mountain ski with a 90mm waist, which are a few years old now but are not worn out in terms of their 'pop' (according to a couple of ski shops). After problems on the Monday, I hired a pair of piste skis for the next couple of days, Fischer Progressor 800s (with a 74mm waist), which I loved. The icy stuff was much easier and less problematic - but we'd had a dusting on new snow as well, which made the skis grip better anyway.

So I have a number of questions at this point:
  • Firstly, is there something I can do in terms of tuning of my Crusades which will make them better in these conditions, such as a 3 degree side edge bevel, say?
  • Secondly, assuming some (most?) of the problem is down to technique, what do I need to do to retain edge hold with a slightly wider ski (given that the piste ski didn't have the slipping problem)? Sorry I don't have any video of my skiing to show.