• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Need help rebuilding a quiver

DanishRider

Getting off the lift
Skier
Hi guys,

I need some help deciding what to get, since we are moving closer to the time where skis are on sale.

Background on:
I have been riding on my Atomic Vantage 90 CTI for the last two years, mostly due to the fact, that, that i got the Dalbello Panterra 130 ID boot with gripwalk, and my piste skis/binding don't support this. These boot are the perfect fit for me, and have the best flex i have ever had, so they are staying for good.
Background off!

Where do i ski?
My ski-year normally looks like this:
2 week with the wife and kids in the alps, usually in sub-3000 meter areas, skiing mostly groomed and a bit of soft snow along the side of the piste. The wife in a steady but not too fast tempo, and the kids a great deal faster as they have gotten older.
4 weeks with "the guys" usually in Austria/France/Switzerland in +3000 meter resorts, doing tons of soft snow (offpiste in Europe), and less onpiste.

The Vantage 90 CTI have been a great compromise for this use, but i am now thinking of getting two skis for that. So here are my options:

Option 1:
2 skis where one is an all-mountain and a +100mm for the deeper stuff. I am thinking a Blizzard Brahma style ski for the on piste, and the side of the piste, and maybe a Fischer Ranger 102 FR like ski for fun in deeper snow.

Option 2:
A dedicated piste ski that does the gripwalk soles, and a new all-mountain with more focus on deeper snow (think Nordica Enforcer 93 style ski).

I might add, that the Atomic Vantage have fulfilled my need for on-piste skiing, apart from icy conditions. I know that a dedicated piste ski, will be much better on piste.

What to do guys?

markojp

mtn rep for the gear on my feet
Industry Insider
Instructor
Head Titan, Nordica enforcer 104.

trailtrimmer

Stuck in the Flatlands
Skier