• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Smear

Getting off the lift
Skier
Hi,

Aside from one group lesson on a NZ clubfield during my first week of alpine skiing, and some tele instruction way back, I'm pretty much self-taught as an alpine skier. So until now I have tried to improve just by trying to feel what I'm doing, and reading books and watching videos about how it's supposed to be done. I understand that's not really an efficient way of becoming a better skier and posting video here is one step in trying to fix that. I'll also seek out some in person instruction this season and last year I joined a program where I can ski GS gates once a week.

Bought a used video camera 2 years ago with intent of getting footage of myself for improving technique, but in recent years I've skied almost exclusively alone or with the kids and the video camera didn't do much good on it's own... Finally planets aligned I got two clips this weekend. This is the first time I've seen myself alpine ski on video. The horror. Not that satisfied with the effort in the video, but it will do as a start. No more postponing.;) I'll add more video later if I'm able to get any. Thanks in advance for any feedback. What do you see as the most prominent issues and how would you work to improve on those?

razie

Sir Shiftsalot
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
See https://www.pugski.com/threads/ma-request.9407/page-2#post-230610 - pretty much similar feedback.

Your reliance on the upper body and lack of separation is more pronounced (i.e. you're leaning in and stay very square to the skis). So - in one word: separation
- separate upper body vertically (feet from hips, i.e. flexion) - drag poles, boot touches in transition
- separate upper body rotationally (counter) - picture frame, hands on hips, tuck turns with counter, braquage, pivot slips