• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Looking for advice on boots for really wide feet

Jeremy Q

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
Hello! I am a beginner to skiing, having only been a few times. I’ve decided that I really enjoy it and want to go as often as possible. Here is my dilemma. I’d like to buy boots, but my feet are wide. I mean, really wide! And my calves are big as well. I’m hoping for some advice on finding boots that will work for me without being a huge expense to my family’s budget (hoping for at most a few hundred dollars, but I realize that might be too low)

Here is my foot size:
Length - 30.5 cm
Width - 120 mm
Instep - 31.5 cm
Any guidance would be very appreciated. Thanks in advance for your feedback.

fatbob

Not responding
Skier
The answer is always to see a bootfitter particularly if you want to avoid the general sporting goods store comfort boot. I guess with feet like that you've pretty heavy so they'd also be able to provide guidance on flex. Personally with my hobbit width feet I've had success with Head Vector and Atomic Magna so you might try to seek out someone stocking those brands.

Or Drink the Kool Aid and wait to next season and buy some one size fits all BOA boots (FTAOD this is a joke).

TS
J

Jeremy Q

Skier
Thanks for the quick feedback and direction on the matter. @fatbob, thanks for the suggested brands. @François Pugh and @scott43, thanks for the advice on the heels. Thankfully there won’t be a problem with narrow heels. It’s been a challenge finding the right fit for big feet and a big body, but I’m thankful for the direction I’m getting here.

Ken_R

Living the Dream
Skier