• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Is this skiing or a terrible beginner lesson?

skiquestion

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
So me and my wife went skiing for the past time this past weekend after experiencing 30+ New England winters and dreading each one. We figured having something to look forward to may be helpful. We wanted to take a beginner course, so we booked a beginners lesson at a small mountain that was pretty cheap, $100 for a 2 hour lesson, lift passes, and all the rental gear. It started off pretty terrible from the start. Mind you, the package we bought had capital letters DO NOT BOOK THIS PACKAGE IF YOU HAVE EVER SKIED THIS IS FOR COMPLETE BEGINNERS. So we get there, and nobody shows us how to put the boots on. When I politely asked a staff member to show us they gave an exasperated sigh as if this was a huge bother and hastily buckled up our boots without really explaining what they were doing. Already I'm like huh, not really that beginner friendly but whatever. We get the skis and helmet, and they don't give us the poles, and tell us to go out to the hill to the instructor. So I'm thinking alright maybe the instructor has the poles.

We get out to the instructor, first thing she does is essentially scold us like we were 7 year olds who tied their shoes wrong about how our boots were done. Anyway, this isn't my first customer service experience, so right off the rip I accepted that they were dicks all around but I wasn't going to let it get in the way of my time or my ability to learn and brushed it off. HERE is where I'm really curious of whether we got a terrible lesson.