• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Help me find a carving ski

Peppermint

Trying to Improve
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
Hello,

I would like help finding a carving specific ski to help me improve my technique. I plan on taking lessons next year and am considering Taos womens Ski Week as well. I am 54 y/o woman, 165lbs and 5'6''. I ski primarily in the Northeast using the Indy Pass so places like Jay Peak, Waterville Valley and Bolton Valley. I have been skiing for 25 years but have had some injuries the past few years that have made me more cautious so I am looking for a ski to help me regain my confidence again and hopefully progress. Right now I stick to blue groomers mostly and get on Blacks sometimes when I ski with my kids. I would love to learn how to ski moguls and trees, mostly since I feel I am missing a huge part of the mountain. My boots are 2 years old and am dialed in.

I have demoed the Head Super Joy 153mm which were fine but they felt too light for me and I didn't love them. I have also been on the Rossignol Essential 167mm and I loved them the way they snapped out of turns and their heavy feel but they felt a bit too long. The 155mm is on a killer deal right now but I am afraid if I sized down, the stiffness of the ski would increase, which may be too much for me. I currently ski on the Liberty V76 165mm and really like them but feel like my skiing has plateaued. I am open to any suggestions for a carving ski.

Thanks

Last edited:

surfsnowgirl

Instructor
Skier
Did you try the newer version of the Super Joy? I hated the older version but the new one has some backbone to it so it no longer feels like you are skiing on a feather.

What about the Head Rally? Someone suggested this to me a while back when I was looking for a ski to help me progress.