• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Good tuning bench recommendation?

Daves not here

Getting off the lift
Skier
My buddy’s wife is going to surprise him with the beginnings of a tuning set up. The family skis and the youngest girl is starting to race. Figured it was time to at least start waxing the family fleet and maybe grow into touching up an edge or two.

I can set him up with an edge guide and a set of stones for now and will find him a good iron and vise. But I have no experience with the portable benches - which is what he will need/want for his garage up at the ski hill. When we bought our place it already had a tuning room built out with big bench, ski racks, etc... so I have not played with any of the benches out there.

So any advice on a good sturdy bench would be great. I will help him get started and teach him the ropes.

Thanks in advance! Off to research!

Sibhusky

Whitefish, MT
Skier
This is buyable or makeable. A collapsible saw horse with a plank or step or whatever on the top.

tmp-cam-2753239.jpg
tmp-cam-1220896668.jpg

The legs fold up. It's very stable, assuming the floor is flat.
It was half the price when I got it, but you can buy the pieces for much less at home depot.

https://www.artechski.com/artech-ski-tuning-bench/

Jacques

Workin' It on Skis Best I Can
Skier
My buddy’s wife is going to surprise him with the beginnings of a tuning set up. The family skis and the youngest girl is starting to race. Figured it was time to at least start waxing the family fleet and maybe grow into touching up an edge or two.

I can set him up with an edge guide and a set of stones for now and will find him a good iron and vise. But I have no experience with the portable benches - which is what he will need/want for his garage up at the ski hill. When we bought our place it already had a tuning room built out with big bench, ski racks, etc... so I have not played with any of the benches out there.