• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

First time all mountain ski purchase (Northeast)

dafonin

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
Hi everybody,

I wanted to get some advice/recommendations on purchasing my first set of all mountain skis. I've done some research myself and have concluded that I need skis north of 180 cms with a 80-95 mm waist. My parameters are listed below. Any help at all would be appreciated (specific models, where to buy, length/width recs based on location and experience, things to look out for, etc.).

My info:
27 yo Male
Height
: 6'7"
Weight
: 205 lbs
: Northeast (I live in NYC and will mostly be skiing in the NE. I foresee infrequent weekend trips to Vermont and more frequent day trips to Upstate NY and Pennsylvania)
Experience: Intermediate (I've been skiing on and off for about 10-12 years. Most I've skied per season is 4-5 times. Some years I haven't gone at all. I am comfortable on all blues and can gingerly make my way down a black diamond +/- a fall or two. I have no clue what to do around moguls and tend to avoid them. Never tried anything off-piste.)
Boots: Nordica One 6 (bought these ages ago)

So far I've been browsing Evo, Powder7, and Ebay and would prefer a skis + mountings package deal. The max I'm willing to spend is $600 but <$500 would be optimal. Some models that have stood out to me have been Nordica Enforcer, Blizzard Brahma, DPS Pagoda, Faction Prodigy, Salomon Stance, Salomon QST, Rossignol Experience, Rossignol Sky, and Rossignol Black Ops. Thanks in advance!

noobski

Out on the slopes
Skier
How long do you want to own the skis? i.e. One season or as you advance over time? How do you want to ski? fun playful, or do you want to get to big nice S's ("GS") or both? You mentioned not much interest on moguls. So that helps.