• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Feedback

L&AirC

PSIA Instructor and USSA Coach
Skier
Here's some feedback I have received about my skiing performance in the gates:

1) You're skiing a flat ski.
2) You have too much weight on your inside ski
3) You need to get higher edge angles
4) Your legs are the same length at the apex of the turn as at transition, so you don't have the ability to flex and extend to absorb. Your transition looks perfect. Extend your legs in the belly of the turn. Not 100% but out quite a bit. Keep it dynamic and always extending or flexing.

Which do you think made a difference to me? All came from race coaches.

#4 changed my skiing in and out of the gates.

1-3 were accurate but told me what they saw and not what I needed to do. As a coach, I should have picked up on what would fix 1-3 but I was hearing and not seeing. No matter how much weight I had on the outside ski, or how high an edge angle I had, or making sure my two skis were outside my upper body, the results were the same.

After hearing #4, I not only felt I was skiing better, but felt more confident and even though moving faster, I felt safer.

Granted, once I started doing this, I had to go through everything else to put those things back in order because I was focusing on extending my legs. Once I was good with extending them, the rest (pole swing, not squaring to skis etc) all fell into place.

Food for thought on giving feedback.

Ken

Kneale Brownson

Making fresh tracks forever on the other side
Instructor
Were all four presented together, or did you get them each individually in that order?

karlo

Out on the slopes
Inactive
Your legs are the same length at the apex of the turn as at transition, so you don't have the ability to flex and extend to absorb. Your transition looks perfect. Extend your legs in the belly of the turn. Not 100% but out quite a bit. Keep it dynamic and always extending or flexing.