• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Tricia

The Velvet Hammer
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
In a recent Powder Magazine article with Travis Ganong, he talks about a dream of owning a mountain top ski hut/bar which is something that he loves about the European culture.
I've never skied in Europe so I have no first hand experience, but this sounds cool.
Snip from article ...
I’ve been talking with a couple of my teammates—Steve Nyman, Marco Sullivan, and Andrew Weibrecht—about how we can bring that European ski culture back to the U.S. somehow, and about building little ski huts at our home areas and branching out from there. We’re all ski racing right now. But it would be a fun way to transition.

There’s this après ski bar up a T-bar at Kvitfjell. The guy who owns it has turned into a really good friend of ours. He has all this memorabilia from 30, 40, 50 years ago—amazing old skis and boots and jackets. This year, I was able to convince him to unscrew the skis from the wall and go up on a snowmobile at midnight. I took two runs on these 1963 Atomic skis with leather boots and old Norwegian bamboo poles with huge powder baskets. The owner wound up giving me the skis and boots after that. He wants me to put them up on the wall of my first hut one day.

Read more at http://www.powder.com/stories/interviews/voice-travis-ganong/#TqMxXcPt8Talss6H.99

scott43

So much better than a pro
Skier