• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Bindings Mounted *Slightly* Crooked

Klik

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
I'm not sure if this is the right sub-forum, but anyway...

I've just noticed that the bindings on the skis I bought last season were mounted slightly crooked. Specifically, on both toe pieces and both heel pieces, the front of the binding piece is exactly center of the ski (across the width of the ski, not the length – I’m mounted in standard mount location) but the rear is about 1mm left of center. The mis-alignment is extremely consistent (as best I can measure, all 4 pieces of the binding are exactly centered in front and exactly 1mm right of center in back). While I have no experience mounting bindings, this makes me think the misalignment was caused by the tool/machine/technique used in precisely the same way for all four pieces. The bindings test fine and I haven’t noticed anything weird while skiing them.

For reference, the bindings are 2019 Marker Griffon 13s, mounted to 27.5 Lange RX 100s (316mm) – god I need stiffer boots, these just fit my feet so well - and the skis are 177cm 2017 K2 Pinnacle 105s

A bit of trigonometry tells me this:

(1) The heel piece of my boot is center-aligned and the toe (316mm away) is 1mm left of center, my boot is angled 0.18 degrees left:
Sin(theta) = 1/316: theta = 0.18 degrees
(2) The tip of the ski is roughly 1160mm from the heel of the boot, so, at 0.18 degrees, the tip of the ski will point 3.67mm right of center when my toes are pointing perfectly forward
Sin(0.18)= x/1160: x = 3.67mm

But that’s assuming I measured the 1mm accurately enough (I probably didn’t - it could easily be +- .5mm) and that the rear of the toe binding being off by 1mm causes the boot toe to be exactly 1mm off. That’s probably not exactly right.