• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Advice on BC Skis for a Newbie Please

WindBiter

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
Hello. So I've been renting skis from my locals sporting goods store to get into the sport. The only options they have to rent are classic skis. Around where I live there aren't really any groomed trails so there is no good reason for me to pursue classic skis as I get better at skiing unless I want to travel a lot to ski (which I don't), although I am enjoying learning with them. I'm looking to invest in buying my own gear that would be more suitable for what I have to ski on (ungroomed trails and impassable, snowed over dirt mountain roads) and that will be good for off trail exploration when I get competent enough. My sporting goods store carries BC skis like Rossignol BC 90s, Fisher S Bounds 98s, Excursion 88s, and various other models. I'm pretty new to skiing and have no experience with BC gear yet, could anyone tell me what I should be looking for and maybe even about the ins and outs of those particular models mentioned? I would really appreciate any help. Thanks.

tromano

Goin' the way they're pointed...
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
I have an BC125 with dynafit speeds which can tour for miles and turn really nicely in fresh snow and a NNN-BC setup with BC65s which work well as gliding snow shoes for ungroomed trails and also slow for classic but fit into a set track.

The skis you are looking at probably won't fit into a set track. I would set them up for making turns, a 3pin with cable/wire, light tele or light tech binding. If you just want a gliding snow shoe and plan to use NNNBC class I would get a narrower ski in case you go to a nordic center.

scottyb

Getting off the lift
Skier
The folks at WG do pretty well on those Rossi BC waxless skis with the NNN system.

I like to meadow skip on my Tele gear sometimes but tour to turns are calling for tech binders.