• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Which Stockli Ski for Me?

SkiDuzzi

Booting up
Skier
IMG_6300.jpg
I am new to Pugski.
60 year old skier
Former instructor
6' - 220lb - Athletic
Advanced/Expert
Front side skier
40 days on skis this season
Prefer early morning frozen conditions
Mostly ski east with trips West
My every day driver is the Volkl Kendo 184cm.
I am on my 5th pair of Kendos...the ski is a natural fit for me
Also have a pair of Skilogik Ullr's Chariots TT 178cm.
Looking to splurge and add a pair of Stockli skis to my quiver.
Thinking the Laser AX in 175 or 182 for a front side ski to rail groomers?
Also looking at the new Laser AR but may be too similar to the Kendo?
Open to suggestions on other Stockli models?
Looking for advice on ski and size selection given my size, ability and usage
Thank you.

Last edited:

James

Out There
Instructor
Depends what you're looking for. Railing groomers would be the forte of the newish WRT. Laser SC, Laser SL, CX.

martyg

Making fresh tracks
Industry Insider
The AX is my every day work ski. It is what I choose if I could be skiing with timid beginners, an advanced skier who wants yo work on carving, or a hard charger on the backside of the mtn.

That said, it is super versatile, but it does compromise something in top end, carving performance. I also have one, or a couple, of each of the Laser line.

If you want shorter radius turns the SC is a great, all mountain carver. The GS if you want something for longer radius turns.

If this is a dedicated carver, I'd highly recommend mounting with the Marker WC Piston Plate.

ARL67

Invisible Airwaves Crackle With Life
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
Last edited:

raytseng

Making fresh tracks
Skier
I have Laser AX

Agree that with this fine line, your choice of binding starts to make the difference to tilt the balance which way you prefer it to go.
Putting it on a race plate for more race performance.