• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Which bindings for the Kastle MX84?

istin

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
I just purchased a flat pair of MX84s in the 176cm length. This is my first time choosing bindings and I really don't know what factors to consider. I'd love it if someone knowledgable could point me in the right direction and clear up some of the confusion.

Kastle says the K12 TRI GW bindings are designed for the RX and MX models. I would assume this is the optimal choice for the MX84, but I don't see any online retailers listing this binding as a stand-alone product. However, I do see a few retailers selling the MX84 with K13 Attack2 GW bindings. Kastle says the Attack2 is ideal for their all mountain and freeride models.

Within the context of the MX84, is there a substantial performance benefit to using the K12 TRI over the K13 Attack2?
If so, and in the case that I can't find the K12 TRI, what's the 2nd best option? Use a different race binding from Tyrolia? Use the K13 Attack2?
Finally, this is going to be a groomer ski for me, but if I want to take it on more bump runs, will this change any of your answers?

Tony S

I have a confusion to make ...
Skier
Team Gathermeister
SkiTalk Supporter
Don't overthink it. Kästle bindings are relabeled Tyrolias anyway.

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
Now is absolutely the time to over think it..all we have at the moment is time. ;) Especially if the person is asking. A better binding will enhance the performance of the ski and when you are buying a ski that has a comma in the price, you want to get the most out of your money. If you want a Kastle branded or Tyrolia binding, the race derived bindings are a great way to go. My first choice would be the upcoming Look Pivot 15, it is laterally rigid and has a short wheelbase allowing the Kastle to flex smooth and round as you pressure the ski into an arc.

Tony S

Skier