• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Where in the Boot to Balance?

Scruffy

Making fresh tracks
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
Oh, the sarcasm....

The problem with LeMaster's example is that the linebacker stance he is referencing is a static stance in preparation for an upcoming, highly dynamic locomotion situation. This is not what a skier has to deal with.

Of course. But the upcoming situation, if you're moving on skis downhill, is highly dynamic. The athletic stance, which most people are at least somewhat familiar with, is an image/analogy, that instructors use with new skiers to get them to visualize a stance where ankles, knees, hips are slightly flexed, with slightly rounded shoulders. Many instructors use this analogy, even with on an snow demonstration pushing skiers in a tall stance vs athletic stance. As an instructor, I'm sure you've run across this?

He is right that the key is to tactically invoke the flex complex (ankles, knees and hips) in the pursuit of COM to ski management. Your "Somewhere between the balls of your feet and the back of your arch" point is a common sense view but with that approach you should acknowledge the front of the heel as a co-conspirator with the BoF for a truly dynamic range of balance.

Of course. Did I say otherwise? If you've read the top of that post before I quoted LeMaster, I talked about moving my COM towards heel at bottom of a carved turn. <== please don't take that to mean that's my only view on the heel in skiing or that every turn is exactly executed then same way.

LiquidFeet

instructor
Instructor
I'm enjoying the discussion.
There sure are differences of opinion -- and experience.
Think I'll have some more popcorn.
:popcorn:

Last edited:

JESinstr

Lvl 3 1973
Skier
How, what, where and why?
In what type of turn?
In what part(s) of the turn?

I created the below diagram and have posted it several times in the past.

arch.jpg