• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Utah What is the latest time to go?

DanishRider

Getting off the lift
Skier
Hi all,

My wife have family in Park City, and she have a hard time boarding a plane (15 hours from Utah), so my question is: What is the latest time to catch really good skiing in Park City? I dont know the layout of the ski-area, but i wonder if the pistes down to Park City will open, and until when, and stuff like that :) Never did the rockies before, so don't know what to expect, so I basically need to know when the season is over out there ... Dumb as it might seem :)

sbooker

Getting on the lift
Skier
I’m no expert but for best conditions I would leave it no later than mid March at Park City. Around the corner at the Cottonwood canyon resorts conditions often remain great until at least mid April and Snowbird goes into May.

Bill Miles

Old Man Groomer Zoomer
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
Snowbird and Alta are the place to be late season, both for season length and snow conditions. About an houir drive from Park City.

On a good year, Snowbird is open daily until mid-May then 3 day weekends until end of May, as late as July 4th on a real good year. My latest was June 11, but that was the last weekend that year for skiing to the bottom. Alta closes a little earlier.

Tony

tseeb
Skier
What is the latest time to catch really good skiing in Park City
There is an old saying that climate is what you expect and weather is what you get. See https://quoteinvestigator.com/2012/06/24/climate-vs-weather/ for some details.