• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Volvo Appreciation Thread

Frankly

Upwind of NY
Pass Pulled
I do like lattes but I'm not a college professor, NY Times reader, or... we'll leave it at that. I like safe well-designed cars.

Currently driving a 2015 2wd V70XC, smallest engine and most basic, good snow tires, 31 mph, plenty of room, heated everything and it looks nice to my eye. Very content.

Prior car was my wife's 2002 V70 2wd in similar configuration that held up very well and I still got $3k for it with 250k on it.

Telling was that I previously had an Xterra that got stuck in our driveway while the 2wd Volvo handled everything fine.

20150213_iphone_0563.JPG
20150718_iphone_0832.JPG

Tom K.

Skier Ordinaire
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
Another appreciator here. 2013 XC60 R-Design. Ungodly fast, but I bought the R version more for the handling than anything else, and boy does it handle.

It's one of those cars that I liked a lot when I bought it, but nearly four years later, I pretty much love it.

I'm sorry yours only goes 31 mph! ;)

CalG

Out on the slopes
Pass Pulled
2003 Allroad, twin turbo, less mpg, but rips the road up. and up..and up.

The air suspension is handy when the parking lot plow leaves a rift of debris blocking the way. just punch the "UP" button to level 4, and drive out ;-)

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
I sold Volvos for 8 years or so.. Their seats and Saab seats are still the best. I had a few, 92 744T, 95 855GLT and an 02 V70XC.

Dadskier

Getting off the lift
Skier
2003 Allroad, twin turbo, less mpg, but rips the road up. and up..and up.

The air suspension is handy when the parking lot plow leaves a rift of debris blocking the way. just punch the "UP" button to level 4, and drive out ;-)

Sounds like an Audi, not a Volvo ...

SlideWright

aka Alpinord
Industry Insider
SkiTalk Supporter