• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Used Buy Help

oswaldr2

Getting on the lift
Skier
I have very little experience with mountain biking, and by very little I mean I went to Vail for gondola serviced downhill once. I really enjoyed it and am considering getting into the sport. I always buy used just because of sticker shock.

Anyways, thoughts on the condition of this as a used bike? I don't know how often things are replaced or just tune, but this is a 2013 and seems like a pretty good deal. I understand this post could be down as it's a Craigslist ad, so sorry if it's down when you read this.

https://denver.craigslist.org/bik/d/giant-anthem-29er/6663780795.html

BBB

https://www.bicyclebluebook.com/SearchListingDetail.aspx?id=3072582

jmeb

Enjoys skiing.
Skier
Used mtbs can be a land mine. How handy are you mechanically? Inclinded to put time and money into learning to maintain your own bike?

It's a reasonable price. The equipment on it is high end, but it has obviously seen a lot of use. There are missing/chipped teeth on the chain ring which implies the bike has seen a good deal of use. From the ad, I'm guessing the owners don't know its service record--so I'd assume to get the fork and shock running as well as they can will require at minimum an oil change and at max a full overhaul. Looks like a Carbon front triangle, so check carefully for any damage there.

From an obsolescence standpoint it's not that bad: modern good brakes, 29er wheels. However it is a generation behind in preferred trail frame geometry for non-racers, and it has non-boost spacing. This means, for now, you can easily find new wheels if necessary, but in the future, they'll be harder to come by.

The best thing you can do if you don't know how to check these things out yourself is to ask to meet at a bike shop and see if they'll do a quick once-over for a few bucks. It can save you a ton of $$$ in headaches.

graham418