• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Swiss Air free to $240 each way for ski bags!

gnarkill283

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
So I've been flying Swiss Air to Switzerland to ski for the past 6 years primarily because they offered free checked ski equipment. This year I went to purchase our tickets again like I normally do and didn't think the promotion was gone because they still advertised it. A week later I decided to double check with Swiss Air that ski equipment flies free, and much to my disappointment, they tell me it will cost me now 50 dollars each way to check in my skis because I bought a "light" ticket - a new international ticket fare that doesn't include checked-in luggage - REALLY?! I've been traveling to Europe throughout my entire life and never have I had to pay for my 1st checked bag.

Here's the best part. I then notice the price of my tickets dropped over 200 dollars each after having bought the tickets 2 months ago (so much for buying airplane tickets earlier for the best price...). I call them up to see if they offer price change vouchers like other airlines. They don't and not only that but to check in skis one way per person is actually 240 DOLLARS! The representative before was wrong - because its a light ticket its not 50 bucks for an additional bag including ski equipment (thats for flex or better tickets) its 240 for ski equipment with a light ticket. I spent an hour with a supervisor begging to make a one time exception after all the business we've done with them which included losing our skis during one trip. They wouldn't budge. So if I had just picked a flex ticket for 160 dollars more during checkout I could have saved 480 dollars per person but now they won't let me even pay the flex price difference. Our trip is screwed...

Last edited:

DanoT

RVer-Skier
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
Sun Peaks B.C. in winter, Victoria B.C. in summer