• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

New England Southern Vermont for 1st week December

MadPatSki

Putting on skis
Skier
I’ll be at Killington two weekends in a row (World Cup and following Thurs-Sun).

As a skiing geographer, I loved exploring ski areas. Call it an addiction. I’ve skied at a good number of ski areas, but I’ve never skied Vermont south of Killington. I would like to take advantage of staying near K to ski at least one new ski area.

I’m a ski coach in the heart of the ski season, so I can’t go exploring during the heart of my season (mid-Dec to end March). I also decided to get an Ikon Base Pass as I was going to Mammoth in June of last year.

Beside of days I’ll be using at K, I have 5 days Sugarbush, Stratton. Never been to Stratton, so planning at least one day there. I’ll be using at least 4 of my 5 K days during that week. I’ll probably be keeping one for late season. This gives me 3 days of skiing elsewhere in Vermont. I was thinking of skiing both Bush and Stratton, then maybe only Stratton as SB is way closer to get to from Ottawa.

But now I’m thinking of taking advantage of being so close to Southern Vermont to explore. There are a few big areas, some medium and smaller hills too.

So if I use one day at Stratton... what should my next two hills (considering that we are talking Dec 2-4 period).
Mount Snow?
Okemo?
Magic? Too early?
Suicide Six? Too early?
Any others?
Any opinions on Stratton? On these? On these in early season?

I’ll try to find deals as I’m not willing to pay close to full price.

Thanks in advance.

KingGrump

Most Interesting Man In The World
Team Gathermeister
SkiTalk Supporter
Mount Snow & Okemo are both Epic. Discounts? Much depend on Vail.
Magic - Probably too early unless we get some real snow.
Suicide Six. Great name. Targeted opening day - 12/14/2019.
Both Stratton and Bromley should be open. Probably running with a few WROD.