• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Something Different

Pete in Idaho

Out on the slopes
Skier
Hey, I am 73yrs old and I took a lesson yesterday and it was great.

I haven't been skiing that hot this year and did North Face Glades at Silver a few days ago and felt like I was a gaper/ beginner. So to partly solve this maybe problem I contacted a friend who is an examiner level guy and a great skier and he spent and hour and a half with me - $50.00 and really helped.

What I learned isn't really important but I also bought a pair of xti 88 Elans from him and boy am I skiing better. I was actually turning with my hips behind me and got on the skis right. Just thought I would mention here as this 90 mins really helped my skiing and my attitude sort of rejuvenated my love for sliding.

Anyone want to know guys name etc. just ask. Sort of says "you're never too old to learn."

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
I shadowed a lesson today and yes I picked up a few tidbits. We all can learn something. :golfclap:

AmyPJ

Skiing the powder
SkiTalk Tester
SkiTalk Supporter
Lessons with a competent instructor are amazing. I echo that sentiment, along with the "not skiing so great this year" feeling. I'm glad your lesson helped, and would actually love to see what you worked on!

Kneale Brownson

Making fresh tracks forever on the other side
Instructor
I took some lessons as a kid in the 1940s and again in the 1960s, when I wanted to get better. But since 1969, when I joined PSIA, I've spent a lot of time skiing with trainers, examiners and Alpine (demo) Team members. So one of the things I like about working at Breckenridge is the wonderful training. I tell our guests I take lessons every year now.

TS
Pete in Idaho

Pete in Idaho

Out on the slopes
Skier