• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Utah Snowbird Alta Advice

musicmatters

Getting on the lift
Skier
I’ve been skiing PC/DV for the past 30 years and know the mountains fairly extensively. I have never ventured over to the Cottonwoods and I’ll like to. I like the fact that I know PC/DV so well that I know what runs ski well in the AM, afternoon, and just general ways to make the most out of the Moutain. I’m looking for some recommendations to what runs are similar to the ones I like at PC/DV

I’m an Intermediate/Advanced that likes to ski generally fast. Nothing extreme or anything with deep moguls from top to bottom. My favorite runs at DV are all the Blue runs down Bald Moutain under the Sterling, Wasatch and Sultan lifts. I do prefer when they are groomed but skiing in 6-7in of fresh snow is always welcome. The Tycoon and Steins Way runs might be my favorite runs and represent the highest end of the steep runs I do. (as well as Tycoon at PC, that last bottom part that leads to McKonkeys lift). I also know to hit Bald Moutain in the morning, as it gets very skied off and beat up especially at the top as the day goes on. What runs or areas at Snowbird/Atla would be analogous to this? Are there any considerations needed to be taken on the time of day?

I also like the runs off of Empire for a little more of that above the tree line bowl feel and then in some sparse trees like in Orion and Supreme. What runs are like this at Snowbird Atla?

I also like some of the more spare tree runs in the “Powder Monkey” area to the left of the McKonkey Lift. Where can you find that at Snowbird/Alta?

Tony S

I have a confusion to make ...
Skier
Team Gathermeister
SkiTalk Supporter