• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Ski techs: mounting errors

Most common mounting issue

• Jig moved or was sloppy

• Jig off centre (worn out or uneven feet)

• Paper jig / hand mount errors

• Dimpled ski

• Other (human error)

• Other (tool issue)

Results are only viewable after voting.

Blue Hour

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
I’m a ski tech / bike mechanic, and while stuck at home (high risk for Covid-19) I’ve come up with a few tool ideas for ski mounting. I want to know if other shops have the same issues I’ve seen in the shops I’ve worked in, and I would appreciate any input from techs as well as skiers who have had issues with mounts in the past.

From what I’ve seen about 1% of ski mounts end up screwed up in some way. Would you agree, or say error rate is likely higher or lower?

The common issues seem to be sloppy or worn out jigs, errors with paper jig / hand mounting, the tech choosing the wrong pattern or boot size (or mixing up parts from different work orders), dimpled skis (tech not checking screw length vs hole depth), and stripped holes (too much torque used on the screws). Which of these seems most common in your experience, and which do you most want a solution for? Or have I missed any?

Since so many of these issues have to do with jigs, or not having the correct jig, what do you think about getting rid of jigs entirely and automating the drilling step of the mount? If your shop never had to buy a jig again, how much would that be worth – would it be worth spending as much as most shops do on waxing or sharpening machines?

BC.

NEPA ShopRat/Skier
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
I’m at at a shop that I drill a crap load of skis....our jigs are in good shape so jigs never really an issue......The speed of the jig is essential to make my assembly line move product.

My two issues I see: