• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Should I mount my backup Sickles or fix my old pair?

Fix old or mount new?

• Fix your old Sickles

Votes: 1 14.3%
  • Mount your new Sickles

Votes: 6 85.7%
  • Buy some new skis, those were the ugliest graphics ever!

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

tball

Unzipped
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
I've got a serious first world problem on which I could use some collective advice.

I love my Rossignol Sickle 181's as my powder and leftovers skis. I've been skiing them for around five years and couldn't be happier, so much so I bought backup pair dirt cheap and they've been sitting in plastic since.

My current Sickles need quite a bit of work. There are multiple core shots, and the edges are a mess from hitting lots of rocks. There's no major edge damage, but enough they'll probably never be the same. That doesn't matter much for the primary duty of these skis, but I do end up on a lot of bumps and a few groomers with these in the afternoon if I don't switch skis. Groomer performance has noticeably degraded, but they are still working well in the bumps.

I probably have 40ish days on days on my current Sickles. Never enough powder days!

I'm about to take a bunch of skis to the shop, and I'm on the fence. Should I fix my old Sickles or mount my new ones? Any thoughts as to why are much appreciated.

Last edited:

crgildart

Gravity Slave
Skier
5 years is probably enough to call them dead if you've got another pair ready to swap out. I suspect you'll immediately notice a big difference. Sacrifice the wrecked ones to ULLR next fall. Time to start demoing and find the next iteration when they go on clearance a couple years out.

James

Out There
Instructor
If you keep saving them at some point it'll be too late to use them. Then, you'll have saved for nothing.

Mount the new, fix the old for crappy days.

TS
tball

tball

Unzipped
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter