• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Saddle Bag

Tony S

I have a confusion to make ...
Skier
Team Gathermeister
SkiTalk Supporter
I need a saddle bag for my road bike. I have been using a "koki" bag for a few years. Size and shape are good, but the"Velcro" on the straps that hold it onto the seat rails is shot - prematurely, imo. Disappointed. I am done with "hook and loop" straps, since no one seems to use actual Velcro anymore. (IME real Velcro is far superior to the mass market crap.)

It needs to hold a tube, levers, multi tool, CO2 + nozzle, key fob, credit card, money for ice cream, maybe an extra Gu.

I like the looks of the Silca items - especially the "Premio Capsule" - that use a Boa, but reviews are mixed at best. I don't like bulky attachment stuff that stays on the saddle, especially when it interferes with fore-aft adjustment.

Thoughts? Thanks in advance.

scott43

So much better than a pro
Skier
I have one of these on my mountain bike. I wouldn't say it's the greatest bag ever, it's a bit big and bulky for a road bike, but it does have buckles and an elastic strap for the seat post. No velcro. I have a Specialized Micro bag on the road bike and it's been fine for me but it's velcro... I think because it's small and you can't pack THAT much stuff in it that it works ok.

zircon

Out on the slopes
Skier
This uses velcro, but... I have this saddle bag on my road bike: https://ride.lezyne.com/products/1-sb-rdcaddy-v104

It holds 1 18-25c road tube, 2 generic black plastic tire levers, small multitool, 1 CO2 cartridge and nozzle, 2 keys without chain, a $20 + drivers license. Gu goes in the jersey pocket. Old saddle was slammed all the way forward on a post with huge setback and it didn't interfere. Bit of a pain in the ass to take off and put back if you open your saddle bag often, though.

TS
Tony S

Tony S

Skier
Team Gathermeister
SkiTalk Supporter