• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

RX lenses

BS Slarver

Making fresh tracks
Skier
As the title says, anyone here using prescription goggle lenses, ideally a progressive lens for either a smith or Oakley frame ?
Good or bad results, anyone have a supplier in mind that they could recommend ?

If anyone is having good results, are you able to see your phone screen with them on ?
As we work quite a bit from the lift answering email and texts, Mrs. C fumbles for her reading glasses, I would love to find a solution for her.

Any suggestions?

Dave Marshak

All Time World Champion
Skier
I just bought 2 pairs of Smith Prophecy goggles with RX inserts and the battery fan, but I haven't used them yet. The Woman of My Dreams has been using similar goggles for a few years and she really likes them. She had bifocals in them but had to switch back to single RX, so I skipped the progressives. I've been carrying cheaters for a few years, so no change there. I got a pro deal on the goggles, and the inserts from adseyewear dot com.

I might have made a mistake by not going with contacts. I haven't used contacts because I needed hard lenses for good correction of my astigmatism, but now there are gas permeable hard lenses that might be comfortable enough for me.

dm

Plai

Paul Lai
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
Hi @Catskill carver,

Since @Dave Marshak mentioned contacts, I'll mention that's what I use. Been using Rigid Gas Permeables (RPG) for most of my life. In today's context they're known as 'hard' lenses. When I first used them, 'hard' lenses were made of glass and didn't flex. RPG are made of rigid plastic and give excellent clarify, and correct for the astigmatism mentioned.

I tried to use soft contacts for a week or two once. Their performance was nothing in comparison to the RGPs. Like many on this site, I'm fairly active and vision is a necessary premium for me.