• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Replace 10 year old ski boots?

Prosper

This is the way.
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
I've been skiing in Solly X-Wave 9 boots for the past 10 years with probably 200 days on them or so. The shells are still in excellent shape and I really like how they feel and ski. Fit is performance and have had big toe punched both sides. I wear Cat Tracks to protect the soles and lugs so no issues with boot-binding interface. Fighting weight is 150lbs and mid-level 8 skier. I ski 25-30 days a year since moving to CO just over 6 years ago. Before that, 10 ski days was a banner year. I've been in Intuition liners for the past 6 years from Larry's Boots Shop in Boulder and they're starting to wear through the toes. While I've generally been happy with the Intuition liners just about every season I have to put on a few of layers of duct tape around the heels and ankles since they continue to pack out. I have a pretty hard to fit foot. I'm extremely flat footed, narrow heels, low instep, very bony foot. I really like how my current shell fits and am considering just replacing the liners again. I'm not completely sold on getting another pair of Intuition liners though and would consider Zipfit, Surefoot, or other low volume liners. Thoughts?

James

Out There
Instructor
For the money of zipfits, $400+, you could probably get nearly a whole new boot and liner at this time of year. Assuming they have your size. Talk to Larry's.

Then keep your old boots as backup for awhile. New boots are a pain, but if not now, when?

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
10 year old plastic is just tired plastic. Think also about ski designs and what has happened in the past decade...the same can be said about boots. Remember too, the X-Wave was not Salomon's most shining moments in boot design. Forget the new liner, move onto an all new boot.

Sibhusky

Whitefish, MT
Skier