• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

chilehed

Out on the slopes
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
Renoun Endurance 98 184, Look Pivots mounted to the recommended boot center.
Me: 5’ 10”, 175 lbs, PSIA 8 (on a good day).
Current daily driver: Head Rev 85 Pro 177, which I love. Past loves: Atomic Access 171, Head Worldup iSL 160.
Conditions: Bulletproof groomers early, changing to softening corn over hardpack and deep heavy mashed potatoes.
Short summary: Part of me was really hoping that I wouldn’t like them, because then I could send them back and get a pair of Rustler 10’s for less than half the price. But I don’t think that’s gonna happen.

There's a lot of headscratching about these, so first I want to talk about what I think I understand about the technology; I’m a mechanical engineer and during my one day on these skis I had so many seemingly contradictory impressions of them that I needed to do some research to try to make sense of it. Hopefully by the end I’ll be able to do that, and if I get anything terribly wrong I’d appreciate being corrected.

We talk a lot about stiffness and dampness, but I think it would be good to make sure those terms are carefully defined. Stiffness is the measure of how much a spring will deflect under a given load. Damping is the measure of how aggressively the energy of the motion is dissipated by the system.