• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Relationships between damping & stiffness in skis and back injuries?

MadMacDuff

Booting up
Skier
Hi everyone, a long time lurker here but thought I might get around to asking for some help trying to understand some equipment issues I have the last few years as they relate to a specific injury. Its a long read so fell free to ignore this post but I being a scientist I can't help but provide a lot information when I have it ogsmile

A few years ago I was competitive fencer but developed a muscle imbalance with my right shoulder being considerably stronger than my left. One day at practice I over extended my arm and ended up torquing one of my vertebrata between the shoulder blades. Now it popped back in to position quickly the muscles in my upper back keep thinking that it was out alignment and were constantly locked up for 3 months trying to "hold" the vertebrate in position. While locked up the the muscles become so tight that they crush the central nerve in between the shoulder blades, leading to crazy muscle spasms, migraines and numbness in the right hand.

This happened when I was 21 and after 5 years of one and off physiotherapy the issue has largely gone away, except the muscle memory comes back anytime my body has to tense up too much and it takes about a week for things to settle down again. Now where it relates to skiing is that I have found certain combinations of skis, boots and bindings tend to aggravate this injury but not others and I was wondering if others might be able to help me identify the pattern?