• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Pacific NW/AK/BC Red Mt/Whitewater 12/28/15-1/2/16

David Chaus

Beyond Help
Skier
Team Gathermeister
SkiTalk Supporter
*note: I posted this on Epic. I apologize for the redundancy for those who frequent both forums.

I have been intending to get to Red Mountain for several years. The first time, I broke my leg the first day of the year and missed the rest of the season (2010-2011). The following year, I went to my first Gathering (Tahoe). The year after that I started teaching, plus we did a trip to Utah. The year after that I’m trying to remember what excuses I had. Last year I went to Whistler over New Years, and the Jackson Gathering, then Sunshine Village in May, all with my Mountain Collective Pass.

So I was thinking about Whistler again this year for New Years, until I remembered how f*&#ing expensive and crowded it would be this year. So I pitched the idea of Red Mt to my significant other, who is recovering from her own fractured wrist injury (from last New Years at Whistler). She wasn’t too keen on the idea, until she realized Nelson is about an hour away from Rossland (she has apparently always wanted to visit Nelson, probably after seeing the Steve Martin and Darrryl Hannah movie “Roxanne”). As it turns out, two nights in Rossland and three nights in Nelson is way less expensive that staying in Whistler. Instead of a 4 hour drive to Whistler, it’s a 7 ½ hour drive to Rossland. OK, this works. So we planned the week between Xmas and New Year’s.