• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

everest8850

cruising along
Skier
got a pair of wood cored skis that need to be remounted with the original bindings. Holes were filled with wood glue or epoxy when I had a new binding attached. Need some advice as how to get the glue/epoxy out and screw back the old bindings. The holes were filled about 3 months ago. Original threads were good when I took out the binding. thanks

DanoT

RVer-Skier
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
Sun Peaks B.C. in winter, Victoria B.C. in summer
I am not an expert so this why I am asking the question: Why do you think you need to remove the glue? Can't you just re-drill the old holes? Even if the old holes had the proper plastic plug glued and hammered into them, can't you just drill right through the plug?

Doug Briggs

"Douche Bag Local"
Industry Insider
SkiTalk Tester
You should be able to drill out the glue. Center the drill bit in the holes carefully. If the skis have metal top sheets, tapping would be advised, but probably not critical. If the new holes matched the old ones, the threads of the screw will quite likely find the old threads in the ski. You don't need a jig to do this, but a jig would help make it easier to exactly match the old hole location and keep the bit square to the ski.

If there is metal in the top sheet, use a 4.1 mm bit. If not, 3.5 or 3.6. These are ski specific sizes, a 4 mm is close enough for metal, I think. Unless your bits are in 0.5 increments, 3.5 is going to be hard to come by except through a shop or supplier.

firebanex

Making fresh tracks
Skier