• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Oxidized (dry) bases

Ken_B

Booting up
Skier
When I stored my daughter’s skis in the spring, I cleaned the bases and used a generic all temperature ski wax. When I checked them last week I noticed that the wax looked dry, actually separated from the base in some areas. I scraped the wax, cleaned the bases using mineral spirits (actually it’s Formby’s Build-up Remover) followed by denatured alcohol, scraped again with a metal scraper, then re-waxed and scraped followed by brushing. She skied approximately 14,000 vertical today and the ski bases are dry/oxidized again. I think the bases are sintered, not extruded (Fischer Koa Sport). I have been doing the same prep on my skis for the past 20 years and can’t figure why it doesn’t work on her skis as well as mine. Thanks for any suggestions.

Plai

Paul Lai
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
+1 on Fischer Koa have extruded bases. My wife's first pair were these. Had these 3-4 seasons.

Don't know much about waxing, but have tried a generic all temp before and wasn't impressed. It was too soft and wore too quickly.

I now use Hertel Hot Sauce and that is better. It's harder and glides better. Others on this site like more traditional/race oriented waxes.

All the skis are waxed between trips. Don't see much base burn, but my wife probably only does half the vertical of your daughter per day. Our trips usually are 2-3 ski days.

Plai

Paul Lai
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
+1 on Fischer Koa have extruded bases. My wife's first pair were these. Had these 3-4 seasons.

Don't know much about waxing, but have tried a generic all temp before and wasn't impressed. It was too soft and wore too quickly.

I now use Hertel Hot Sauce and that is better. It's harder and glides better. Others on this site like more traditional/race oriented waxes.