• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

OK Tuners, Riddle Me This.....Hanging Burr

Dakine

Far Out
Inactive
I obsess over my tunes and pay a lot of attention to my skis after a session.
Something I have notice recently it a well tuned edge develops a hanging burr after a good carving session on icy snow.
From the mechanics of the interaction between ski and snow, I would expect the burr to be pushed out laterally caused by the sliding motion of the edge across the snow.
But no, the burr is pushed out vertically leading to a slight hanging burr that I can catch my fingernail on.
A couple of passes with a fine stone in a base guide removes the burr but I cannot see why it forms.
The hanging burr seems more pronounced in the forebody of the ski.
I'm an engineer and it bugs me that I don't understand the dynamics of how this happens.
Does anybody have a clue?

Sibhusky

Whitefish, MT
Skier
Unless you're dragging your outward tip inwards to join the inner ski on every turn, I would not think this would happen even with blue ice. I would think you'd have to be hitting rock to cause that. Did this happen every single time or did it happen once?

Are you one of those chair lift ski clackers? I pretty much assume they don't tune their own skis when that stuff starts.

TS
D

Dakine

Far Out
Inactive
Unless you're dragging your outward tip inwards to join the inner ski on every turn, I would not think this would happen even with blue ice. I would think you'd have to be hitting rock to cause that. Did this happen every single time or did it happen once?

Are you one of those chair lift ski clackers? I pretty much assume they don't tune their own skis when that stuff starts.

It happens every time I ski but I'm going to pay more attention.
I switch skis from foot to foot so I'm not sure which edge (inside or outside) it is happening to.
I'm obsessive about not banging or scissoring my skis, ever.

BClipped

Booting up
Skier