• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

New to skiing

beginnerskier96

Putting on skis
Skier
Hello! I am new here.

According to a ski level chart I am a complete first time skier. I have looked at several different websites yet cannot find any sort of information on lesson description etc. I need some recommendations on nursery slopes. So what tips do you have for a first time skier? Should I buy a pair of skis or not? Suggestions on how to prepare are also needed. I have watched a few videos of people skiing online.
Please give me details on skills and lessons as well. I am a complete newbie to the sport. I was born into a family of non skiers. Where do I rent out equipment? What do I expect? How long is the lesson? My partner whilst not a expert can safely move about on a bunny/nursery slope alone. I am excited yet nervous. I have never been skiing before ever. Seriously. But there is a first time for everything.

Thanks in advance!

Coach13

Making fresh tracks
Skier
There’s a lot of advice to be had but most resorts offer ver affordable beginner lift and lesson packages. I’d start there.

Here is also a link to a “New to Skiing” thread you may find helpful:

Coach13

Making fresh tracks
Skier
I’d say I’m an upper intermediate level skier. I started later in life, took beginner group lesson then moved on to private lessons and got a lot of advice from this and a former ski forum. It’s about time on the snow and good instruction imo. Other than maybe good fitting boots, I wouldn’t worry about buying equipment at this point.

Mendieta

Master of Snowplow
SkiTalk Tester
Contributor
Thanks. And that article was somewhat useful! What level of skier are you?