Need help removing grease from snow pants

Discussion in 'Softgoods: Clothing, Helmets, Goggles, and More' started by avgDude, Dec 24, 2018.

1. avgDude

avgDude At the base lodge Skier

looking for a suggestion to remove grease from my relatively new yellow ski pants.I'm pretty sure it dripped from a chairlift cable/pulley onto the chairlift seat.

I've tried "shout", a hand degreaser, bleach, "dawn" and whitening toothpaste - no luck

2. slowrider

slowrider Out on the slopes Skier

Oxy clean
    Simple green
    Baking soda and vinegar
    Brake cleaner
    Good luck

3. Lorenzzo

Lorenzzo Snow Skier Skier

I'd really like to know what effect bleach had on them. Did you swab it on directly or just add it to the wash? Did it change the color of the pants? I majored in Chemistry and am geniunely curious, not just poking fun although that too.

What fabric/manufacturer? Do they have care instructions on-line? FWIW I had the same issue with some Arcteryx GoreTex Pro pants. Arcteryx's website gave possible solutions, they didn't work so I called Arcteryx directly. The CS rep suggested a citrus based cleaner and then following that with a re-appiclation of DWR as the citrus breaks it down. It worked for me. I can't recall the name of the product but I remember it was typically for industrial equipment which freaked me out a bit but it was the right stuff.

4. Jenny

Jenny Out on the slopes Skier

This was just posted, with before and after pics, on Ski Diva. Totally took the stain away, and it was a big one! I've not used this procedure before, only Dawn and a toothbrush.

1. Spray each stain with WD-40, and let set for at least a half hour or more. (I did 45 minutes)
    2. Put a small amount of Dawn dish soap on each stain, and scrub it into the stain with a toothbrush.
    3. As it starts to release with off (blot off) with paper towels.
    4. Continue until it the stains are not visible.