• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Matching boot flex and ski stiffness

William H

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
I'm in my fourth year skiing, and have skied about 80 days total. Almost all of those days have been on a pair of Rossignol Experience 77 skis and Technica Cochise 100 boots. I'm 5'11", 180 pounds. I feel good skiing just about any groomed run on the east coast, and am just starting to enjoy skiing just off piste and in trees when the snow is good. I ski primarily on the east coast, but get out west for about 5 days a season.

I've thought for a long time about upgrading my skis, and a couple weeks ago pulled the trigger on a pair of Nordica Enforcer 93s. I had the chance to ski them for the first time this past weekend, and absolutely loved them. The stability at speed and edge hold are miles ahead of the Experience 77s I had been skiing.

The new skis got me wondering, though, if it's time I think about moving to a stiffer boot.

Do you all take into account ski stiffness and width when thinking about boot flex? Are there signs that would indicate a boot is too flexible for a skier? Or am I just getting in my head when I just keep skiing?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and feedback!

jzmtl

Intermidiot
Skier
It's probably time to upgrade to a stiffer boot, but once you go up there's really no reason to back down even on a softer ski.

I upgraded from 110 to 130 and kept the 110 thinking I'd use it with my all mountain skis while 130 with my SL and GS. But after using 130 for some time, going back to 110 is unbearable, feels like it's going to collapse under pressure. 110 has since been retired to "ski with wife on green trails" duty since it's quite comfy all day long.

Ken_R

Living the Dream
Skier
Read this: https://theskimonster.com/blog/posts/ski-boot-fitting-flex-width-liners-hike-modes-and-shell-design/

excerpt:

"