• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

skiwagon

Booting up
Skier
Planning my first trip out west to either Colorado or Utah. It will be my son (age 11) and I only. Planning to fly out on February 28th and return on March 4th. These dates align with the school calendar on some days he is out. He is an expert level snowboarder and I'm an expert skier. I'm starting to see deals pop up online and and in magazines sync quite honestly I'm overwhelmed on what location to choose. We will ski 2.5 days (Thursday afternoon, all day Friday and Saturday, fly home to NC on Sunday). I need some advice on where to go that meets some items that are important to me, which are:

1. Accommodations in an area where it is lively with restaurants and shopping after we ski. Don't need a nightlife with an 11 year old, but a good energy and cool restaurants is something we enjoy. Walking access would be great so that I can enjoy some local beers.
2. Access to rental equipment. We will take our boots, rent skis/board once we get there.
3. Snowboard friendly for my son.
4. Accessible Drive from the airport.
5. Decent value. Not a cheapskate, but don't want to splurge on the Ritz.

If you have resort and/or hotel advice that would be greatly appreciated. Also, if you recommend a travel agency I'm open to that as well if it is necessary for a first timer.

Thank you in advance.

SkiSpeed

Getting off the lift
Skier