• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Looking for a replacement for the beloved Elan 999

Pat AKA mustski

It’s no Secret! It’s a Ranger!
Ski Diva Tester
SkiTalk Supporter
Bob has been skiing these since 2010 and no other ski has satisfied. He has Blizzard Magnums and Volkl Kendo, but with the exception of really hard snow, frontside skiing days, he always grabbed the Elans. He took good care of them, but sadly the time has come to replace them.
240181_240181_1.jpeg He has these ones, just to clarify.

Does anyone have any suggestions for skis in the 100 range, that are similar in flavor? He likes to ski bumps and trees and skis pretty much every run at Mammoth - so he's self taught but 40 years competent. He plans to demo but would like a narrow list of options. He's not a patient demo guy.

Andy Mink

Everyone loves spring skiing but not in January
SkiTalk Tester
SkiTalk Supporter
Armada Tracer 98 or 108
Kore 105
Liberty Evolv 100
Line Vision 98

That's a pretty short list but I've skied them all and liked them. All a bit different but should be in the ballpark of the 999. The Line may be a bit soft but it was a really fun ski, especially at the end of the day.

Andy Mink

Everyone loves spring skiing but not in January
SkiTalk Tester
SkiTalk Supporter
Another option would be Renoun Citadels. Renoun is clearing out factory blems and test skis so you can get a heck of a deal on a fine ski. Not sure how the Citadels compare to the 999 but I skied them for 7 days at the gathering in bumps, trees, and groomers and never felt out of place.

John O

Getting off the lift
Skier