• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Lange RX130- Painful!!

PoppaSkiLove

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
Ok so full disclosure. I'm a huge Lange fan. Have been on the RS120's through 3 generations and absolutely loved each blue iteration. I bought these Rx130's last spring, and walking around they felt awesome, super snug but comfortable too. Haven't had a chance to actually ski in them until today...

First run or 2 was awesome, so responsive and quick, felt like just an extension of my own body I was in full control. After that I noticed a progressive increase in pressure points. A run or 2 later, I was unbuckling with each lift up. An hour later, it became downright painful! I've been skiing for 30+ years and I don't ever recall noticing a boot was actually painful. Sometimes a bit uncomfortable bit this was an entirely new level. I'll be more specific:

I wear thin socks FYI. My R foot felt a big time pressure point over the medial part of my foot (I think the navicular or cuneiform). My L foot felt super tight around my Achilles weirdly enough. Both feet developed tingling and mild numbness which I've also never experienced from a ski boot.

I've always had a great fitting foot for Langes, is the RX130 that drastically different from the RS models of yesteryear? Is this just par for the boot break-in course? I'm heading up north in 2 days and I'd like to get this situation sorted prior. Any utility in going to a local shop for the heat treatment for molding with these boots? Pro boot fitter is obviously the most optimal though they are booked at least a week out. Any ideas?

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester